Climb the steps of this two-storey log home built near the banks of the Red River.
Seven Oaks House is the oldest home in Winnipeg. Built between 1851 and 1853 for John and Mary (Sinclair) Inkster, their home is one of few surviving examples of local Red River Frame architecture. The Inkster-Sinclair family resided on this homestead site from 1831 until 1912, witnessing tremendous changes. Each room of their restored country estate now depicts a different period in Manitoba's past. Visitors are invited to walk through time, experiencing life as it was for a wealthy Metis farming family in the 19th century. Open from the May long weekend to Labour Day, 10:30 a.m. - 4:30 p.m. daily. Admission is by donation. Phone: 204-339-7429. Web: www.sevenoakshouse.ca Email: email@example.com